To Protect or NOT to Protect

Posted: May 24, 2011 in Technology
Tags: , , ,

I have finally found some time to look some more into DPM and decided to modify my environment and created some additional PROTECTION GROUPS. I am particularly chuffed as I have not done this before. Make no error, I have used DPM extensively for mailbox recoveries (Execs and other users crying about loosing items), recovering of databases and VHD (see some of my previous posts). So back to my point, the Protection groups were created without any hassle and now I have a dedicated SharePoint Protection Group.

See below, an extract from a script from Scripting Repository, many thanks to it’s author

http://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/scriptcenter/1c9c61ce-688f-4ef0-8d9b-cd93cd703c45

image

I did however run into a few hiccups and have learnt a few amount Smile

There are a few pre-reqs that are needed before the Sharepoint Protection Group can be created.

ConfigureSharePoint.exe must be run on the server were WSS / MOSS is located.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd441708.aspx

The SharePoint VSS writer must be started and the SQL VSS Writer must be started.

Then, if like me, you had protected the SQL databases separately, these WSS / MOSS databases will need to be removed from the Protection Group.

Then a few pieces are added, see screenshot below.

image

It does not look like much, however if you look at the “Recovery Options”, it will look a little more familiar with a few more familiar databases.

image

Hopefully this helps you

 

Follow me

facebook-small twitter-small

Comments
  1. […] It happened to me just the other day, I had to “re-think” my DPM design and starting using “Local” to each Data Centre DPM servers to backup my data at each Data Centre. However, this was not the case before this, we were using the same product, but a different strategy. Now I had DPM agents in both datacentres connecting to DPM servers not in the same Data Centre. For Example, I had Server A (Data Centre 1) with a DPM agent from my secondary DPM Server (Data Centre 2) protecting it. So, I went searching and found my answer and it turned out to be amazingly simple thanks to POWERSHELL. DPM has a POWERSHELL management shell (thank goodness) and some built-in scripts for just this (truly amazing). Within 10 minutes I had changed my DPM agents to report to the DPM Servers and began creating protection as needed like SharePoint (see previous post). […]

Leave a Reply

