To new depths

Posted: October 5, 2009 in SCUBA

 

What a great weekend. I finally got to test all my new SCUBA kit. I have all the bits, bar the knife and one or two extras. I have the BCD, mask, fins, snorkel, cylinder, regulator and wetsuit. So for the first time in a long time. I got certified in 2004, I got into the water at Bass Lake. It may not be the best dive spot, but it was well worth it. It was with a friend. For both of us, it was our first NON-INSTRUCTOR lead dive. It was basic and short, but a boatload (no pun intended) of fun.

I also learnt a few things about my gear. Not even I am immune from the id10t issue, LOL. Basically I did something silly and thought that my rig was playing up. Fortunately, I was wrong and it was only a silly move on my part.

On a side note, I would highly recommend that you use the directions found on the web. I got the GPS co-ordinates from the same site, and my GPS was trying to take me some VERY funky way to the lake. Clearly my GPS does not know that I have a Honda Jazz and NOT a hard-core fully fledged off roader. Sometimes, going the non technical route (printing directions, yes, I as a man followed directions, LOL) is far more beneficial.

http://www.basslake.co.za/map.htm

http://www.basslake.co.za/scuba_services/scuba.htm

That is all for now.

“EMBRACE YOUR INNER GEEK AND ROCK ON”

Comments
  1. Michelle says:

    heheh I loved the fact that you said you are a man who follows directions. I have heard from many people who say their GPS likes to send them on a Sight Seeing tour.It sounds like yu had a blast.

Leave a Reply

